The huller is the kitchen gadget I reach for whenever I get a berry urge. Whether I eat strawberries with Nutella, toss it in a smoothie, or mix it in overnight oats, the stem corer helps me prep the fruit before incorporating it in my recipe. To buy: $8; amazon.com With four mini stainless-steel claws that open up at the push of a button, the huller digs right into the leaves and stem. Then with a simple twist and pull, my strawberry is cored and ready to enjoy. The simple design has a syringe-like mechanism that makes all the difference, removing everything I don’t want without breaking out the knife. Even my mom, who has arthritis in her hands, easily uses the StemGem without experiencing aches or pains, which sometimes happens while coring with a knife. And you know what? It de-stems strawberries perfectly, every time. While cutting the tops off isn’t exactly taboo, I refuse to do it for one reason: It’s a waste. Although this method does the job, it also removes fruit along with it. And there’s no way I’m cutting around the leaves to salvage chopped-off fruit. The StemGem instead makes a tiny crater where the leaves were, so you’ll feel better about being less wasteful. And when you’re done, throw the huller in the dishwasher for a quick clean. Upgrade your strawberry game with the $8 Chef’n StemGem. It’s seriously the one kitchen gadget that I won’t core without.